Digital Stretch Quest: Chatroulette

For my social strength quest I decided to go on a solo mission to Chatroulette. Which, as a woman, is very uncomfortable because of the impression from most people that it is just full of horny guys that want to show off to someone…

Before
Uncomforability Scale: 4

I connected to Chatroulette at school, so that probably added to my uncomfortability.

chatroulette

In my short time on there I realized that this was a digital environment consisting of ONLY men, at least from what I experienced. Surprisingly, it was not AS sexually forward as I had expected it to be, but it could have been because I was on at 4:00 p.m on a weekday. I had a few people just show me their crotch with their clothes on and point, and I had two men who asked if I wanted to partake in activities that were about a 100/5 on the uncomfortability scale, but it was easy to avoid by hitting the Next button.

I was trying to see if there was any chance at an interesting conversation with a stranger. I did have a short lived conversation with a mechanic from Montreal which was very normal, we talked as if we were friends that were just meeting, which is what I thought this experience could result in. Although, I found his conversational skills lacking and ended up calling it quits after a few one-word answers.

After
Uncomfortability Scale: 2

This strength quest reinforced my belief to try things before just believing preconceived notions about it. I don’t think I would do it again, only because I feel like I didn’t get much value out of it in terms of meeting new/interesting people. I did really like the control I had over who I could talk to, it made me wish it was possible to hit next on  uncomfortable social situations in real life.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

